Second Victory in League For Footballers

Meath Football A League Round 2 – Trim v Dunsany.



Trim Intermediate footballers hosted Dunsany in this 2nd round A league game on Wednesday night. Conditions for playing football were atrocious with nonstop rain leaving the pitch barely playable. The Dunsany lads adopted to the poor underfoot conditions faster than the townies and went into a four points lead in the first quarter. Trim registered their first point in the sixteenth minute when Daire Lynch hit the mark with a free. Midfielder Robert Bourke fired over their second point two minutes later with Lynch accurate from another free in the twentieth. In the final ten minutes of the half the home side hit two more points virtue of Eoin McGrath and Daire Lynch to leave the half time score at Trim 0-5, Dunsany 0-4.



After the resumption the home team went two points ahead  with points from Nigel Duignan and Alan Douglas and proceedings remained so until the middle of the half  when in a three minute period five points were hit, three from the visitors and two from the Trim to leave a one point gap. Then the defining score of the game came in twentieth minute when Trim through Neil Heffernan were awarded a penalty which Daire Lynch dispatched with aplomb. This sparked a further push from the home side and two points were registered immediately afterwards to create a six point gap with five minutes remaining. Dunsany pulled one back on the cusp of the full time to leave the final score at Trim 1-11 to Dunsany 0-9.



The introduction from the Trim bench in the second half of steeplechasers Ciaran Joyce and Neil Heffernan added some playing power in the soft conditions and had a significant effect in the turnaround of the score.



The Trim team was….Niall Murray, Patrick Lennon, Luke Moran, Rory McGrath, Ciaran O’Rourke, Shane Downes, Declan Dowling, Alan Douglas, Robert Bourke, Daire Lynch, Darryl Phelin, Nigel Duignan, Eoin O’Connor, Eoin McGrath, Michael Cullen.



The Trim subs were…..Kevin Nally, Robert Brennan, Robbie Kenny, Conor McMorrow, Alan Carey, Ciaran Joyce, Neil Heffernan, David Murtagh, Alan Shine, Eoin O’Connor.



The Trim scorers were….. Darragh Lynch 1-4 (4 frees, 1 pen), Alan Douglas 0-1, Nigel Duignan 0-1, Darryl Phelin 0-1, Eoin McGrath 0-2, Robert Bourke 0-1, Neil Heffernan 0-1.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *